Does anyone change Dexcom sensor at 7 days?

I see a lot of posts with folks pushing their Dexcom sensor a long time. I am new to Dexcom and just had one last 13 days. Then it quit at a most inconvenient time. Does anyone time their changes to be convenient? And does anyone change it at 7 days regularly?

I pay for my Dexcom myself, so I push sensors as long as theyā€™ll last. You can renew a sensor at any time, even mid-way through a seven-day period. So if youā€™re worried it may die soon, you can renew it earlier at a time thatā€™s convenient for you.

I have pretty good insurance coverage, so I change my sensor every Saturday ( just picked a convenient day). In the past Iā€™ve used sensors for two to three weeks. When I first started with Dexcom I regularly used the STS 3 sensor for 10-14 days.

Iā€™ve been using Dexcom for a while, and find that you get better at predicting how well the sensor is performing. For example, after 10-12 days, it may be just fine, or I may start to see ā€˜jitteryā€™ lines. That sometimes means it will completely stop working soon, but in some cases it bounces back and is accurate for another week.

When it quits, meaning goes to ???, usually around 10-12 days, some times if I wait a few hours, it comes back and works fine for another week, sometimes stays at ??? for several hours and I change it.

When I know there is an ā€˜inconvenientā€™ time where it will be due for a change/restart, as Jen says, you can do the restart sooner, using End sensor, rather than wait for it to time out at the 7 day mark.

Nope, self funding, so I change every 2 weeks. I wish I could afford a change every 7 days as my skin would appreciate it.

Iā€™m paying for my Dexcom out of pocket and I still change every 7 days, unless Iā€™m on a trip. I am able to go longer, but it was causing scarring which was immediately apparent. On the bright side, I buy enough sensors that I get my transmitters for free.

1 Like