Does it get better?

Ive been pumping for less than two months but it feels sooo much longer than that. I keep getting lows at work . I hate changing it , finding places to put it. I feel annoyed with it and honestly prefere MDIs which from what I gather most people are psyched about the insulin pump. Ive been diagnosed diabetic for little over a year and a half. Maybe its that I haven’t been diagnosed diabetic very long and am stil adjusting? I’m frustrated cause I keep going low at work. However , on MDIs my sugars would range upwords of 250 or more consitently and the pump does seem to regulate it better. I just want to know if anyone else felt like me about the pump?

Actually, with a pump, you should be able to eat whenever you want, and not eat when you don’t want to. Your basal rate(s) are meant to keep your BG at a good, steady level with or without food. Boluses should take care of food.

Do you have a CDE or pump trainer helping you? I highly recommend the book Pumping Insulin. It will help you figure out how to set your basals, I:C ratios (which can change throughout the day), etc.

Some people do prefer MDI - give the pump a good shot though before you decide to go back :slight_smile:

I was on the pump 8 years ago and then went off it after a bad experience (partly due to a site failure and mostly due to my lack of attention). I went back on it not too long ago.

Like you, I was regularly going up over 250 on MDI. I also had some wicked dawn phenomenon that was just getting unbearable. In addition, because I am fairly insulin sensitive, I found it very hard to correct on MDI. I went back on the pump basically because I want to live. Going up to 250 on a regular basis is going to lead to bad things.