Durable Medical Equipment Question

I am in the process of appealing 2 claims to United Healthcare for my pods totaling $3400. I have been using the Omnipod since June of 2009 and had claim denials the last 2 shipments. UHC makes me go through Edgepark Medical Supplies and during the approval process my endo’s office, Edgepark and I spoke with UHC confirming benefits and approval. We were all told the same thing that once my $2000 deductible was met the pods would be covered at 100% not applying to DME. Of course this is nowhere in “official” writing and now UHC is claiming that the Omnipod falls into DME, which I have a $2500 cap on for 3 years. They can’t seem to grasp the mechanics of the Omnipod and insist that I cannot get a new insulin pump every three months. No kidding! Does anyone have experience with this, or actually won an appeal? Thanks! Karin

Unfortunately I just had to switch off of UHC, but I was in the same routine and never got any grief. Sorry I can’t help, but I’m sending good vibes your way…

What state do you live in? A DME cap of $2500 is ridiculous. You couldn’t even get regular pump supplies (for three years) for that amount.

I have Aetna, but my pods are covered under the DME portion of the policy (as were my Minimed pump supplies).

Years ago, when I got my first pump, I had United Healthcare. They covered the pump and all supplies at 100% with no deductible or cap.

Shannon, I know it’s totally crazy! I am in Wisconsin. Luckily, I have just switched over to my husband Aetna insurance which is much better already, but the UHC is still hanging over me.

Thanks for the vibes Todd!