Emo?

OK so I've had the pod for about 2.5 months and at first, we had a love/hate relationship. I managed with shots before I made the switch and I had the shot thing down to a science (Dx 06/08/09). Getting my numbers right with the pod took MUCH longer than I expected and I was really second guessing my decision for a little while. Now things have calmed down and I'm getting used to it... and two times in one week, I've had the (GOD AWFUL) squealing sound interrupt my day. Once was a PDM error and the other was an occlusion. For some reason, when these things happen to me, I get REALLY emotional about it. It makes me cry. I think it is the fact that I'm still fairly new to this whole diabetes thing and I do spend most of my time trying to forget that this thing is attached to me... FOR-EV-ERRR... and so when I have to spend time (TOO much time) on hold with Insulet, or call my rep, or waste insulin, etc. etc. etc... it just gets overwhelming for me all over again. It is like a big fat slap in the face to remind me that my life is different than it used to be everytime something happens that draws attention to its existence.

TELL ME I'm not the only one who feels this way?!

I felt that way for a while and I still go through a few days where I wish I didn’t have to deal with it.

However, the pump is seriously the best thing I’ve ever done after being diagnosed as T1D. It lets me actually do things I enjoy doing: drinking wine, exercising, and just living. The pump lets me adjust for the activities I’m doing so I no longer have to forget about doing something… which I had to do while doing MDIs.

I will admit, the Pod errors annoy me to no end, but I haven’t had too many of those. BTW, if you haven’t set it up, there is a setting in the PDM that automatically shuts off the Pod if it hasn’t received a signal from the pod within X hours. That caused a few of my pod errors.