First Tri of the Season!

Millerton Sprint Triathlon Race report 4/21/12
First race of the season, prep race for Wildflower Olympic distance

Motivation:
My motivation for this race was to get in my first open water swim, and practice transition and fueling for my big race in 2 weeks: Wildflower Olympic. Not to mention, the race was local and I got to race with a number of my club mates from TC3 (Triathlon club of central California).

Leading up to the race:
I suffered a major training set back last month when I came down with the flu and got a sinus infection at the same time, which led to a 2 week struggle with bronchitis. Overall I stopped training for about 3 weeks. I only started training again last week. In an effort to simulate race fatigue I trained hard Thursday, Friday and raced Saturday. Thursday I did my first brick of the season with a 42 mile ride with about 2,000 feet of elevation gain and a 2 mile run with a few minor hills. Friday I swam 2,400 yards in the pool (Jarrod: I was following the training plan, but forgot my cheat sheet at home and missed a couple of the 100 yd stints). My pre-race carb-loading meal consisted of 2 chicken thighs, mozzarella cheese and crackers, salad, tabouli, pasta and about 3 glasses of water. Carb count for the meal was approximately 68g of carbs.