Give up?

Does anyone know anything about Apidra? Apparently my insurance company (and the one of my parents as well) is now only going to cover Apidra. I've been using Novolog via my pump for a couple years now and was using Humalog before that - in fact, I had to switch to Novolog because the insurance stopped covering Humalog!

I'm not so concerned about myself right now, as I'm going to die anyway because the insurance also has stopped covering my thyroid medication, but I'm wondering how it (the Apidra) will effect my father. He's type 1, but doesn't check his blood sugar before he takes insulin and can't feel when he starts to go low. I guess I'm concerned that this Apidra (which I have no experience with other than what I've Googled and read about in my Mosby's) will work too fast and leave him low quite quickly.

Is there a big difference between Novolog and Apidra? This is very discouraging and frustrating for me, because all three of us (myself, my mom, and my dad) are diabetics on insulin who have incredibly limited incomes.

I have taken Apidra for almost as long as it has been out. I like it a lot. It is a fast acting insulin that has a rapid expel time. It very seldom leaves me low. My endo tells me that one will use slightly less insulin with Apidra, but other than that, it should work quite well. I have taken it through MDI and now, by pump.

As all insulins, Apidra is expensive. I am surprised that it becomes the preferred insulin of your insurance company. I thought Novolog had the lock on that.

Why are you being denied your thyroid medication? Can you not appeal to the insurance company or go anywhere else for help? Maureen

I switch between Apidra, Novolog, and Humolog pretty frequently, depending on what kind of promotions/prices I can find. I really don't notice a difference between any of the three.