Grocery shopping by a newbie

I'm pretty new to this having just been diagnosed with DT2 about a month ago. One of my biggest challenges so far is grocery shopping. I mean, trying to keep to a low carb diet is really pretty hard. It seems that almost everything sold in the store is loaded with them. I figure that If I just stay on the edges and keep out of the aisles is about the only way I can do any shopping. What prompted this posting tho was that this morning I found myself in the cereal aisle, checking out the carbs on my favorite cereals.. The problem with this is that this is about the third time that I have done the same thing (I miss my morning cereal!) as if the cereal manufacturers are going to magically lower the carbs in their products. Makes me feel pretty stupid.

Don't feel stupid. It's hard to change your diet and especially hard to give up things that you've eaten since you were a kid. Staying on the edges of the grocery store is a good strategy. Another is to emphasize things you already like that meet your low carb goals. If you like eggs make them (or EggBeaters) your new core breakfast food. Emphasize salads, nuts and protein foods at other meals.

And sadly you will probably have to give up cereal for good. Even those of us who aren't insulin resistant find that cerals - even those with complex carbs and lots of fiber tend to act as rocket fuel for our blood sugar.

You'll get the hang of it. It just takes time, effort and patience.

Take care,

Maurie

You will find that ceral is one of the most missed food by members of the D club. When my wife bring homes cerial for the grandkids I will find myself pulled toward the box.

When grocery shopping I find it's best to stick to the vegetable and the meat isles. Whats best to limit is grains, sugars, and potatoes. Leafy vegetables have fewer carbs and meats have none at all.