Heart Complications: One Story (Mine!)

Diagnosed at 30, right off the bat I was warned about Type 1 Diabetes (T1D) complications. Being a soldier, I quickly created an acronym to describe those I feared most: BAD (blindness, amputation and dialysis). At 28 years into the T1D journey, I’ve avoided those. One I glossed over was Heart Disease. Many of us do.

In 2007, I was hospitalized for Diabetic Ketoacidosis. I had a stomach bug and dehydration and was found unconscious after a couple of days. Somehow getting disconnected from my pump didn’t help. The local volunteer rescue squad couldn’t get a BG, so they gave me IV Dextrose. Result: BG of 1,440. After a few days I woke up and on the day I was to be discharged I had chest pains.

Immediately I. was hooked up to a heart monitor and had a blood test for cardiac enzymes. The EKG was negative but troponin levels indicated a heart attack. Next was a visit to the Cardiac Catheterization Lab. A catheter was inserted through my groin and up to my heart that showed some occlusion (deposits of plaque inside the arteries of my heart) of around 40-50%, but not warranting treatment with a stent. I was given some medication and discharged a couple of days later. Not having a family history of heart disease (or diabetes, for that matter) my Cardiologist blamed T1D since that is a common complication. I didn’t have any more heart problems–End of story, or so I thought.

Flash forward to 2017. I was having some chest pain, particularly after exercise. I called my doctor and was told to go to the Emergency Room RIGHT NOW! As I was driving along, I was about 5 miles away when I started getting new pain in my left arm–a classic symptom of a heart attack. I had a choice: either keep driving or pull over, call 911 and hope the Rescue Squad could find me. I drove faster.