Help with Dawn Phenomenon!

I eat pretty much the same thing for breakfast and lunch a sandwich with 2 pieces of bread (32g) However my BG levels after breakfast are near 200 and after lunch about 110. I normally give 5 units for breakfast and 4 for lunch. I guess the solutions are eat less carbs for breakfast.

How common is the dawn phenomenon. My BG levels are almost always high 1 hour after breakfast. And I test when I wake up in the morning and I am always 85-95 before breakfast.

Thanks

Hey Rich, what happens if you don’t eat anything? Do your numbers still go up? If so, you may need more basal insulin in the morning (that’s what happens to me). If you only rise when you eat, you may need a higher I:C ratio for breakfast. I find these kind of “unexplainable” highs the most frustrating!

I am not a DP expert by any means. I thought it happened at 4 am? But really, I have no idea…

Rich,

That’s not dawn phenomenon. Dawn is when your BG goes up before breakfast. To prevent the spike, take your insulin 30 minutes before eating and you also may need to decrease your insulin:carb ratio in the morning. Mine for breakfast is 1:15 but after lunch it’s 1:17. Don’t check your BG 1 hour after breakfast, your insulin activity peaks at 1.5 hours after dosing, so you’re not even on the decline yet, but if you’re spiking like that you def need to increase the time between bolus and consumption.

Also is it white bread or whole grain? If it’s white, try eating whole grain (not cheap wheat) bread like Sara Lee Multigrain for a week. It’s more expensive but I had to switch to stop the same type of spikes. The whole grain breads digest MUCH slower, resulting in a more level absorption pattern, and provide a more consistent glucose pattern. It also will keep your feeling fuller, longer because of its slower digestion.

SuFu