How do I find out how much a unit of Humalog lowers my BS?

I am new to insulin and am having trouble with my humalog. I've not had a low yet but I also have not had much lowering my numbers. For example, last night I took 8U and did not see a reduction in numbers for 3 hours then a drop from 171 to 128. I never got below 110. Now I do admit that my meal was higher carb than I usually eat.
Anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to find out how much Insulin I need to lower my BS/U. Right now I'm afraid to do anything before I eat but then I have the food effecting my BS. Since I'm a T2, I still have some pancreatic function which also effects lowering. I don't want to plummet myself into a Hypo but I'd like to see SOME lowering when I take the drug. I'm also wondering why it might be that I need so much insulin with so little effect.
I'm not sure if this makes much sense, I'm in kind of a hurry right now. I'll be back later in the day to be a bit clearer.

There are two ways to use Humalog, bolusing for a meal and correcting for a high blood sugar. Most people on MDI do carb counting and bolus before their meal. If they are still high 3-5 hours after a meal, they may consider a correction bolus. If you want to figure out how much insulin to inject for a meal, you count the carbs and you inject an amount proportional to the amount of carbs. This is called an Insulin to Carb Ratio (ICR). To correct, you test your blood sugar and then figure out how much you need to lower your blood sugar factoring in your Insulin Sensitivity Factor (ISF), that is how much you blood sugar is lowered by a unit of insulin.

Well the best way to figure out your ISF is an "experiment." During a fasted state, when at least 5 hours has passed since your last meal/snack or injection you test your blood sugar. Then inject a fixed number of units, I would would suggest at 2-3 units as 1 unit is not accurate. Then wait 2-3 hours and you should see the effect. That is a good first cut.