Insulin for 2 months now

So I’ve been on insulin for about 2 months now and I think things are going well… I have a few questions so thought I would ask here. What would you consider a low blood sugar? I’ve had a few 3.2s (57ish) and corrected with juice or banana. Is this dangerously low or just low? My Dr is still insisting I dont bolus for snacks which doesn’t make any sense to me. He told me it would be too many injections and I already have the Lantus working anyway. I could theoretically have a snack higher in carbs than my lunch for example. Should I for example, bolus for snacks above 5carbs? One night I forgot to take my Lantus and didn’t take it until the next evening, would it be ok to take half in the morning if that happens again?

Sorry for some of these newbie questions and thanks again for the advise… Paul

1 Like

Hey - never apologize for questions – only way to learn. I’m not a doctor, so I can’t give you medical advice, but I will tell you what I do. The question of “how low is too low” is always big - and to some degree varies by individual. I do not consider 57 to be dangerously low, so long as my BG isn’t falling rapidly at the time. (I use a CGM, so I have a good idea of the trends.) That said, I certainly do correct any lows in the 50’s, though a whole banana is too many carbs for me!

Doctors don’t like you to “stack” insulin - to take more than one shot within 4-5 hours. I was initially given similar advice. I also did not like the results I got from not bolusing for snacks, so I started doing so. If you do, you will have t otest more frequently to make sure you don’t overdo it and go low (or high, for that matter). My eventual “compromise” has been to avoid snacks that contain many - or any - carbs, such as a handful of almonds or a piece of cheese. Currently, I rarely snack at all.