Medical Student Needs your Help!

Hello Everyone.

My name is Ryan Heinrick and I am a second year medical student (MD) at Boston University School of Medicine. For one of my small group discussion research classes, we are looking at “the daily life of someone with Type 1 Diabetes.” As a class, we are currently in our Endocrinology block of study. I thought it would be great to ask the community a few questions about their daily lives. I’ll present some of the findings to my small group of future doctors.

Here are some questions that I’m interested in (feel free to answer as much or as little as you desire):

1. What were the circumstances that led to your initial diagnosis? What is your story?

2. How did you feel at first? Scared? Guilty? Ashamed?

3. What kind of education or instructions were you given once you were diagnosed with Type 1 DM and by whom? (Nurse, Dietitian, Doctor?)

4. What is your daily routine (monitoring, shots, etc) from the time you wake up to the time you go to sleep?

5. What are some situations that require you to change this routine? (Going out for drinks, traveling, work schedule, etc.)

6. What are you concerned most about regarding your health in the future?

7. How has living with Type 1 DM impacted your relationships with others (romantically, friendship, family, children, etc).

8. How has insurance (and dealing with insurance companies) impacted your life, health and general outlook?

9. Anything else you’d like to share.

Thank you VERY much for taking your precious time out of the day to respond to these questions. As mentioned before, I will present trends and interesting points I find from this discussion to those in my group. Feel free to be very clinical as I’m very familiar with the diets, drugs, etc (once upon a time I wanted to be a Dietitian and my degree is in Human Nutrition).

If you wish to contact me directly, my email address is: rheinrick@gmail.com

Thank you again,

Ryan Heinrick
BUSM II