Medicare & type 1

DIABETES & MEDICARE GUIDELINES FOR TESTING BG, ETC...

Are you wondering what they are, cause so am I. Your post doesn't say. I'm worried about them not paying for my testing 10 times a day! I'm already preparing to lose my Dexcom AND my Omnipod pump and am already angry about it.

MEDICARE IS NOT MY MD...WHAT DO THEY KNOW ABOUT WHY & HOW MANY TIMES I NEED TO TEST...I'VE HAD T1 FOR 75 YEARS,I USE A PUMP, & I KNOW MY BODY BETTER THAN ANYONE ELSE.I ALSO DON'T FEEL WHEN I'M TOO LOW OR TOO HIGH.THEY ALSO DON'T COVER CGMS WHICH WOULD HELP.

I know, can't figure out why they don't cover the Omnipod, it's so frustrating how may insurers don't! I have had to submit a letter from my Dr. stating that I need to test 10X a day and it has so far, sufficed and I've been covered. Now, though, my new insurance follows medicare guidelines and they are requiring tests proving I'm type 1 and a log of testing every 6 months!! Very frustrating. I agree, I've been doing this for 36 years and as a result of testing 8 to 10 times a day, I have no side effects. They all talk about "preventative" but when it comes down to covering it - forget it.

I also can't feel lows and currently insurance covers my Dexcom. While it's not perfect it wakes me up at night and has prevented several extreme lows. It can get into the 20's and I feel fine. (or so my brain thinks)

WE ALL HAVE TO FIGHT MEDICARE TO MAKE THEM FEEL WHAT IT FEELS LIKE WHEN YOU HAVE HYPO-UNAWARENESS,ETC...& WHY WE NEED TO TEST SO MUCH.LET THEM FEEL WHAT WE FEEL...OR DON'T FEEL...AFTER SO MANY YEARS WITH DIABETES.

Did I read that right??? You've had T1 for 75 years?? That is AWESOME!! Sorry, I know unrelated to your question, but I saw that and it made me so, so happy!