Metformin or Insulin?

So, I am a 38 year old, 9 month old diabetic with T2. I am still learning the ropes… Today I received my Diabetes Forecast and there is a letter in “Mail Call” from a person who says he too is a T2 and was immediately put on insulin versus a pill when he was diagnosed. He refers to an article from the previous month’s issue about “Embracing Insulin”.

This is the n’th number of times I have come across an article like this which suggests that diabetics who are put on insulin shortly after their diagnosis do much better managing their diabetes in the long run.

I had suggested to my wife that I should ask my doctor about perhaps switching to insulin, and my wife actually suggested that I just want to be “shooting up”! I was galled by her response. She also thinks that I have become a hypochondriac since my diagnosis. Then she suggested that there are plenty of diabetics out there who only manage their sugar levels through diet. I wanted to ask her to produce one.

I got mad! I asked her if she honestly thinks that I want this disease, or if she thinks that I like sticking sharp pointy things in my skin three times a day, every day. Then I told her that I hate freaking out when I forget to take my pill or leave my meter behind. I just want to live, and I feel like she thinks this is no big deal.

Craig,
It is your doctor who has to decide what is best to control your diabetes.Metformin,exercise & diet if do not normalise your Hb A1c,then your doctor has other options.Some prescribe insulin with metformin but you are not in the status to need only insulin to control your diabetes.The good thing is you do not resist the idea of shots as many of type2 diabetics do here( by the way type2 children have to be treated with insulin in addition to metformin…)

I am currently on two forms of insulin treatment Levemir (basal) which is a long acting, and Novolog with my meals (bolus).