Metformin-worthwhile or causing trouble?- new to forum

Hi!

I'm new here, and I am here for information and support. I'm a psychiatry resident (at my advanced age) but I find that the information I need to live well with this disease is more likely to be found somewhere like this.

I was diagnosed in 1994, in Chicago, with what my endocrinologist called Type one and a half, which no one had v=ever heard of at the time, at least at my medical school. I had a number of autoimmune endocrine problems, so when my A1c came back high, and I explained that I had had "gestational diabetes" for the entire nine months of my last pregnancy he tested for antibodies. At the time, I was very a very active normal weight medical student.

His advice then was to never let anyone give me any oral jeication except metformin. I was able to stay on only metformin until a year and a half ago- and at that time started Lantus. I gaind 25 lbs on Lantus, and kept needing to increase the dose. Then I switched to levemir, and then added symlin which didn't do much.

Then a couple of months ago I had to add prandial insulin, and had pretty much nothing but highs and lows, made worse bgy my extremely irregular schedule. So a couple of weeks ago I started with a Ping pump. My controkl had been pretty fabulous with the pumo--though I am having a hard time with it psychologically.

But my question is about metformin. I've been taking it since 1994, and at 2500 mg a day for many, many years. My endo wants me to keep taking it.

In the meantime, I have only one diabetic complication-neuropathy, but it has been quite a problem, as it hurts, prevents me from running which is my preferred form of exercize, and I worry about getting infections since I want to keep my feet. My kidneys and retinas are totally fine, thank God.