NO insurance in Virginia Beach

Hi all,
I am wondering if anyone has advice for me regarding finding low-cost supplies in the Hampton Roads area. I don't have insurance and haven't for the past few months and buying my supplies at cost is getting really hard to sustain financially (I'm a student). I will become eligible for the state of Virginia's "pre-existing condition" insurance in September but am looking for help because I'm worried about affording everything for the summer. Generous T1 friends have given me test-strip and needle contributions but am wondering if there is a local/state-wide charity I could access. And no I am not eligible for Medicaid, because I live with a parent and their income factors into the process. Any advice is appreciated. THANKS!

Have you tried the Virginia Beach Dept of Health? There are free clinics or low cost that are based on income and ability to pay in the area and I do believe they also offer prescription drugs as well. I'm sure they could refer you to one, or know of other resources that might be available as well.

Thank you Christy. I will definitely check that out.

http://www.justdiabeticteststrips.com/

Along with everything else we deal with, we have an outrageously expensive disease.

Contact the pharm company that manufactures your insulin. They all have Patience Assistance Programs for people who can't afford meds. You'll have to complete a form on their site. Do the same for strips. ReliOn, sold at WalMart, has the cheapest strips. Not as good as free, but I order syringes from http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/. Least expensive source I've found. I order quantity for free shipping, but may be too much for you to afford right now.