Oral meds?

I’m T2, and been taking metformin for it.

But now it looks like I’ve maxed it out, and will need some other meds to help. My recent HbA1c was 9.1.

My options for other medications are:

• Janumet (not covered by insurance, but the doctor wants me on it),
  • Forxiga (not covered by insurance, and I’m not keen due to thrush and UTI issues),
  • sulphonylureas (which I’ve heard bad things about but covered by insurance),
  • Exetanide (Byetta, covered by insurance but I’m not obese)
  • Pioglitazone (covered by insurance but I know nothing about)
  • Onglyza/saxagliptin (covered by insurance but I know nothing about, or is this Janumet?)

I have no knowledge of these other meds, and would love to hear from people who have used them. I remember reading ages ago that it’s better to skip sulphonylureas and go straight to insulin, but that was before these other drugs were around (I think).

You should start using insulin. Usually your dr. will let you use long acting insulin. If not enough, dr. will add short acting insulin, for bolusing with your meals.
Remember, pills are chemicals and it comes with unwanted side effects. Insulin is produced by the pancreas, if it is still working, and body friendly as such.

insulin

2 Likes

I take Onglyza and Pioglitizone. Definitely gained weight with the Glitizone. I might be able to stop that one if the A1c remains good. Both replaced the Sulfa I was taking. I take 2000 mg of Metformin also.

Thanks for the reply.

That’s what I’m thinking too. My doctor isn’t keen on insulin. But I’ve taken it before, because when I was first diagnosed they thought I was t1 so I used it for about a year. I miss the control it gave me - the ability to actually fix a high instead of just riding it out and hoping for the best. So the more I think about it the more I think I should go back on it.