Parents of Children with Type 1 Diabetes in Canada

Hi, I'm new to diabetes and tudiabetes. My 6 year old son was diagnosed at the end of November, 2009. I'm finding all of the information on BG numbers very confusing as most are from the US. Any parents that would like to add me as a friend would be greatly appreciated. I live in a small town in Canada's Arctic where we are the only parents of a child with type 1 diabetes so we don't have any support (meaning people who totally understand our way of life). Thanks. Maureen

I live in Northern Ontario. My daughter was diagnosed when she was 7. She is now 11. I know the feelings of being isolated. In four years we have not connected with any other diabetic children within our community. My own healing journey began when I started writing about my experiences. Seems like It’s turning into a book. If you would like to check out our story… go to www.acureforemma.com.
Would enjoy hearing more of your story… If I can provide support in any way… I’m here. :slight_smile: xx

Hi Julie, I will definitely check out your site. I appreciate any support you can give. I feel pretty isolated here. Everyone has experience with type 2 and they just assume it’s the same when it’s not. Some days I feel ok we can do this, others I want to run away…but of course, I could never do that. We have no family here, so we are alone! Any tips on finding a sitter so my husband and I could go out to dinner for a couple of hours…we’ve had zero alone time since Jacob’s diagnosis and I’m very hesitant about leaving him with someone even for a couple of hours. Thanks and I look forward to reading your story. I’ll send you more information on our story. Have a great rest of the weekend.

Hi Maureen,