Pregnancy and Pump Suggestions

Hey there,

So, this is my second post ever, and is kind of a follow up to my meet and greet and a question for all you ladies who are or have been pregnant insulin pump users.
First off though, I’ve been using the Dexcom G6 for about 3 months now and just got my A1c results - down 2 whole points!!! There’s still some room for improvement, but my husband and I are absolutely floored to see such awesome results. I was so reluctant to get on a CGM or pump for years because I thought it would make me feel like an invalid hooked up to machines, but I can honestly say I haven’t had a moment’s regret about getting my CGM - I love it! Which leads me to insulin pumps: I’m excitedly pursuing getting one, but I feel a little overwhelmed by all of the options and some of the technical lingo I don’t understand yet. I’ve been doing a lot of research and have worn a demo Omnipod, but really I’d love some input from women who have been on insulin pumps during pregnancy and your preferences. I like the idea of a no-tubes pump, but I’m wondering if it’s really ideal for all the fine-tuning and increased insulin requirements as compared to say, the Tandem T-Slim x2 or the Minimed 670G…? We’ve still got at least 9 months before we start TTC, but I love research and want to put us in the best possible place before a baby is in the mix. :slight_smile:
Anyway, thanks for reading this novel of a post, and for any advice or input!

~ Dawn
T1D since 2003

@Dawnifer
Not related to pregnancy but if you really like the Dexcom, I am sure you are aware that the Tandem t:slim X2 now has integration with the Dexcom G6 including the Basal-IQ algorithm which is designed to reduce the frequency and duration of low BG. We have been using the Basal-IQ actively now for about four weeks and have been extremely impressed.

Omnipod is a partner with Dexcom and is working on cgm integration but does not have an integrated product available yet.