Pump occlusions - anyone had better luck with Tslim

So I have been battling with pump blockages on my medtronic 640G. I’m just wondering whether anyone has had better luck with the Tslims in terms of pump not blocking up?

After a lot of trial and error, i think there is scarring under the skin over time that are causing my pump to block up. I’m not sure whether Tslim infusion sets are any better but I’m due for a pump renewal so I don’t know whether I should continue with medtronic given that I’m getting problems, or try the Tslim.

I’ve been pumping for 8 years now and have only been on medtronic pumps so I don’t know whether there anything thats any better. Here in australia the major players are medtronic and tslim. We don’t have the omnipods.

Are you getting error nessages of blockage, or just unexpected high or unexpected bgs.

The infusion sets for Tslim are essentially the same. Have you tried the steel sets (Sure-Ts) ? Sometimes this is better absorption, and the needle can be moved around with same set. Medtronic might send you samples to try.

1 Like

Hi MM1,
Its the Insulin flow blocked error message. When its blocked, my blood sugar is often high by the time it notifies me that it’s blocked.

I’ve tried the sureTs too based on some suggestions on this forum. Still get blockages and doesn’t last as long as the mios.

I think that a lot of the blockages are caused by scarring. Before I insert a new set I feel around the area to make sure there are no hard areas under the skin. I also use a lot of different areas on my stomach but some areas are better then others.

1 Like