Pumps?

I have been using Lantus at night and Apidra when I eat and have maintained a 6.5 A1C and don't mind testing and injecting. My endo. and my nutritionist both say the next step is to start using a pump. Why my numbers are better than ever, I feel great and like I said, I don't mind the checking and injecting. I notice that a lot of you guys here at "tu" use pumps. Whats wrong with the way I'm doing it now? Is there something better about the pump? Honestly, I don't want one! It almost seems like there's money to be made for someone.... Any thoughts? Thnx.

I'm new to the pump, one month and I love it!!
Was diagnosed type 2, put on oral meds and after horrible control was found to be type 1. Endo put me on MDI for 6 months before pump.
A couple of pluses for me...using less insulin - for me (and most) it's more efficient.
And because I'm out and about all the time it's easier and more flexible.
But newest part is fine tuning...little tweeks that I can setup just for me and how my diabetes reacts to life.
Good luck in your choice.

It's your choice. Pumps cost more, generate more waste, require a 24-hour catheter in your skin, and can lead to DKA if tubing or pump fails. You have to test your BG just as much with a pump as without a pump - so there's no difference there. The only real difference is the injections. If you have been able to match your basal needs with your basal insulin injections, then that removes the primary reason for most to use a pump.

Some people love pumps and find it makes control easier. Others don't like them, and don't see any improvement in control (or even a decline). It's an expensive toy to put in a drawer. If you don't want one, then just say no. I think most doctors who push them feel it is in their patient's best interests; but I've read that some doctors receive a financial incentive from the pump company for signing new customer up. I can't prove that is true, but it seems plausible.