Questions about the Diabetes Pump

Hey guys, i’m really new to the diabetes pump so I had a question. What should I do if there’s no more insulin pumping into me through my pump? Here’s the details.

1. I ate lunch at about 4:10 which by then there was already about 3.0 units worth of insulin pumping into me (a correction for a high blood sugar before lunch?)
  2. After about an hour or two I checked my blood sugar again and it was alarmingly high, I counted my grams of carbs right, and wrote down my correct blood sugar.
  3. Afterward, my blood sugar refused to go down even with the basal rate being 1.2 units at about this time.
  4. This same instance happened the other night too, and my blood sugar went high after eating, counting my carbs right, and taking the right amount of insulin for a correction.
What should I do?

Your cannula may be kinked. Change your infusion site and see if that helps. If it doesn’t, try using insulin from a different NEW bottle. If that doesn’t work, call your endocrinologist to get further help. You don’t want to slip into DKA! If it’s not giving you all your boluses, chances are it’s not giving you your basal rate - and this could make it very easy to get very sick quickly.

If your pump isn’t delivering & you’re sure about the amount of insulin on-board (or that there’s none on-board), give a correction by injection.

I agree that changing the site is the first thing to do. Did you bolus for your lunch? You talked about the IOB and counting carbs but you did not say that you actually bloused for lunch. A correction and meal bolus are 2 different things.

When I started pumping this summer, my sites were breaking down very fast and after a few weeks I started getting hives – I was apparently allergic to Teflon. You could possible have a problem with your sets without necessarily getting hives so if this is a regular problem for you, you might want to get samples of other sets.