Sulfonylurea as needed?

Hi,

I was just wondering if anyone has been prescribed or has had good results taking Glimepiride (or similar) on an as needed basis? Like a planned event to indulge on some occasional basis?

Hi, Eugenia,

I’ve been seeing your message for a day or two now, and wondering what I could contribute. I work in health care and have given this medication as ordered over the years. I do not take it, and I do not have a dx of diabetes, though my recent A1c does put me in the pre-diabetic range.

One thing we heard some medications called in school was “dirty.” For example, tricyclic antidepressants were considered a “dirty drug,” mostly based on their many side effects and how easy it was to trigger a very unwanted side or adverse effect. It had both a narrow therapeutic and behavioral range, for lack of a better word (stuff like no hot tubs). I don’t know if glipizide has ever been called a dirty drug or not, but I dislike it intensely. Yes, it’s good at lowering BG, but I have found that it can bottom patients out extremely fast, creating stress and tension for patient and caregiver alike. I hate it! Sorry if that’s TMI. I have not heard of it being used on an as needed basis, so I can’t really comment on that. I just know it is an extremely powerful if not dangerous medication.

1 Like

Like the above, I too have seen your post before and was at a loss for an answer. It’s like someone with a peanut allergy, getting an Epipen. So they can eat some peanuts.

I don’t know the time for the drug to stabilise and reach a therapeutic result in the body, but many take a week or so. For a one off, I’d be asking my doctor, to which drug can be used.

1 Like

I would be cautious, it last a long time in your body it could overlap other medication. This could cause lows also. If I want to do something special I walk it off. My A1C is in excellent. Good luck. Nancy50

1 Like