Tandem tslim exercise mode

Hello! I have been using the Tandem tslim x2 with ciq for several months. I have gotten my settings (mostly) in a good place but I am having trouble with exercise.

It seems to me that “exercise mode” does not do anything. I go low almost any time I exercise- even if it is leisurely exercise (such as walking the dog on a day in which he wants to stop and sniff everything) and also even if I put exercise mode on a half an hour before I start. The only time I can avoid lows is when I exercise first thing in the morning, presumably because the exercise is combating against FOTF.

Any suggestions/advice on how to make exercise mode work better for me?

Thanks.

I eat a banana before exercising. Or under-dose for a meal (as in: tell my pump I’m having 30 g of carbs when I’m actually having 40) and then exercise before it shoots up.
I was told to set it to exercise mode an hour or even two before starting exercise mode but that’s just crazy talk.

1 Like

Also, I often have to snack.

Exercise mode doesn’t do anything for me either. I make sure that I don’t have any IOB before starting exercise and carry a hypo treat.

I agree. The other issue is it gives automatic correction boluses when in exercise mode. In my opinion that is dangerous and an absolute terrible design by tandemn.

So taking fast acting carbs while exercising results in my CGM showing a fast rise in BG, but I know this is a temporary rise and my BG will come back to normal range. I think that is a pretty common BG response to carbs while exercising. Unfortunately your predicted future bg will calculate a required bolus and automatically give. The is the absolute last thing I want is a bolus and creates a big problem.

So temp basil is still the best solution for exercise.

1 Like

I’m surprised this game been mentioned yet. I have three commonly used basal profiles. "Control-Iq"is my standard, “Low_iq” is 50% of my standard, and “High_iq” is 150% of my standard.