Target hba1c

what is the range that a hba1c should be in? that is, a target without constant lows and diabetes controlling your life each and every minute of the day?
what do you realistically aim for?
thanks!

here are my stats…
Type 1 since 3/2000
MDI --> Humalog + HumulinN
Last A1C’s: 5.8, 6.0, 5.9, 5.8, 5.6

I think a healthy target range for a type 1 is 5.5 - 6.5; but I’m no doctor, and everyone is different

Through the years, the Lab reference range here for A1c was below 7.0. This past year or more, I noticed that the reference range on my test results has been between 4.8 and 6.0.

I prefer my A1c range to remain between 6.5 - 5.9.
My last 2 year A1c’s were: 6.3 and 6.4. Boring but stable. A few A1c’s just before those I also had: 6.2, 6.5 and 6.7.

My target range is from 5.5 to 6% which is the upper range of a healthy person (4 to 6%). I would recommend to stay below 6.5% to reduce the risk of complications.

I think it is important to approach these goals strategically. It makes little sense to reduce the post meal values if your morning values are often to high. So tackle the morning problem first. It has the most influence on your A1c because it is likely that these high number were elevated for longer periods of time.

The biggest improvement can be achieved when your basal needs are truly covered. So you should run tests with your endo to verify that the basal coverage is good.

If this has been sorted out then the post meal situation should be dealt with. Try different waiting times before you eat and watch the aftermath. Are there sites to apply the shot that turn out to absorb the insulin with less reliability? Am I reacting appropriate to the given insulin? Are there other insulins I could try to reach better control? What about sport - can it help to improve my general sensitivity to insulin?