The pump

CAN ANYONE TELL ME THEIR FEELINGS ON WEARING A PUMP. MY DAUGHTER IS THINKING OF IT.

It makes it very hard to read sentences written in all CAPS. You may consider writing sentences in all small letters if you wish as that is easier to read than all CAPS.

I have been wearing a pump for 2 months now. It has been the best thing I’ve done to take control of my blood glucose readings. After going on the pump the number of high and low readings have reduced drastically and I spend a significant amount of time in the normal 80-120 mg/dL range.

If your insurance covers it I would urge your daughter to go on the pump. There are many choices but the best value for money is from the Minimed or Animas pumps compared to the Omnipod pump.

Thank you John, I know a lot of people are on it but her Doctor doesn’t recommend it. He says they may have power failures. I am trying to find out how it feels for the needle to be part of your body and wearing the pump.
She was diagnosed at 4, now 16, and has been on different insulins. Now she is on Lantis and Novolog and she likes to sleep in in the morning which is great for her. Are you an older person or younger?

Power failures? I don’t even know what your doctor means by that!

There is a soft plastic cannula which stays under the skin and delivers insulin from the pump - no needle (unless, of course, you use the Sure-T infusion set. Dave is the expert in this and he should be able to tell you how it feels to use that.). There are plenty of kids who are wearing a pump and experiencing a very good lifestyle because of it.

I think you should switch to a different doctor if your current doctor is unwilling to put your daughter on the pump.

Thank you John. I now know a little bit more.

how does it feel to wear it? is there a needle involved?

Thank you Dave for all of your help. We will look into it.

I can guess two reasons your doctor might mention “power failures”.