The Worst Kind of Diabetes is

You Have a Job to do.

Diabetes Awareness month is November.

We’re not going to wait. Too many are getting it wrong now, today. Do something today that could have an impact on Diabetes Awareness Month for 2012. Ready?

The worst form of diabetes…….is getting it wrong. Find a newspaper in your area and either email or send a letter. Here is the copy of my actual letter that I sent to Mr. Fred Groser, Publisher of Newsday, here on Long Island; and I also sent to the Vice President of Editorial Services for Cablevsion—it took me 7 minutes and 37 seconds to do both. If needed, take mine and tweak/edit as needed……but do it.

Dear Mr. Groser,
My name is Tom Karlya and I am an online writer about diabetes (www.diabetesdad.org and www.dlife.com/diabetsdad), active in many diabetes causes, and probably most importantly; I am a father to two children who live with Type 1 Diabetes everyday.

As I’m sure you know, November is Diabetes Awareness month and I, along with thousands of people across the nation who are touched by this insidious disease, are writing to our local media to ask that should you run any stories about diabetes; PLEASE make sure you ‘get it’ right.

When referring to Type 2 Diabetes designate it as such; and the same with Type 1 Diabetes, or Gestational Diabetes, or to whichever form of diabetes you are referring. There is so much misunderstanding and confusion about diabetes, help us educate the public to understand fully by being specific where needed.

Thank you for your time. You can contact me directly or feel free to reach out to the Diabetes Advocates at info@diabetesadvocates.org; their website is www.diabetesadvocates.org; they will be glad to answer any questions you have about the different forms of diabetes. Thank you for your support during diabetes awareness month.

Regards,

–Tom