To All Pumpers - How/Why did you get your pump?

I’m curious what prompted so many of you to start pumping. Also, what kinds of hurdles did you have to go through with either insurance or doctors. I’ve heard some say they had to have certain requirements like having no c-peptide, others had to be on shots at least a year and similar stories.Everyone seems to love their pump, and while I’m still a newbie and far from pump worthy status, I’m now thinking about my future with diabetes and where I’m headed. Hope ya’ll can help.

I have been on a pump for about a year now. I was pretty intimidated by it at first, but I really like it now. My dr was the one who pushed it actually. I was on what she called a poor mans pump, or Lantus + Humalog. After the honeymoon year was over, they did a few blood tests for insurance and then sent off a letter to them to see if I was cleared.

I think alot of it is how the Dr’s office puts it to the insurance company. We justified it by showing that I was not producing any insulin on my own at all, and the anti-bodys were present in my blood. I know the educator there sent my insurance a multipage letter on why I needed it, but it was pretty much a form letter. I ended up getting 80% of the pump paid for and the company I am going through (pumps-it out of houston) has been great. I was able to do payments for the 20%, and I get 3 months of supplys in like clockwork. I would recomend them to anyone.