Type 1 Diabetes and Muscle Gain

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to this whole diabetes thing and need some help with some questions about diet plan for a muscle gain regime.

I know there are some dangers with excessive protein consumption and was wondering what is the best diet plan to lose weight and gain muscular mass

Additional info;
I have a super tight control of my diabetes. My last 3 HbA1c results have been 5.6,5.8, 5.8 (from most recent to oldest)
Unfortunately I have also been hit with some pretty severe complications from the onset of my diabetes. Just a few months after I was diagnosed I started to get tremendous leg pain, which sadly has now been diagnosed as a severe and unusual form of Peripheral Neuropathy. Along with this I suffer from depression and anxiety which are controlled by heavy medication.

Any help you can give would be great thank you!

I wouldn't worry too much about increasing the amount of protein in your diet, especially if you intend to hit the weights hard to increase your lean body mass. You will have to if you want to put on muscle mass.

I don't know if a Bernstein type low carb diet is suitable for someone looking to put on lot's of muscle mass, but there are plenty of people here on very low carb diets to control both BG and weight who substitute protein for a glucose source and fat as calorie source with good results. The point being, increasing the protein content of your meals does not present much danger to an otherwise healthy diabetic at all.