Type 1 or LADA?

Hello all. I am new to all of this- diabetes and this site. My husband was diagnosed as Type 1 last month. Since then, I have heard people use both terms 'Type 1' and 'LADA' in describing adults with a similar diagnosis. I have researched and researched and still find conflicting information on the two. Is there much of a difference, really?

A quick recap of my husband's story: He has always been underweight. When we married 5 years ago, he was 135 lbs and just under 6'. He eats like a horse, but *never* gains weight. In the last 6 months, he continually lost weight- 19 lbs to be exact. We chalked it up to any number of things- changing to a more sedentary job, stress, etc. It was our first clue. In that 6 months, he began to exhibit all the symptoms of diabetes. Lethargy, extreme thirst, and thus frequent urination. It came to a head in July, when I woke up one night to find him drinking 5 water bottles full of water, and was still thirsty. I called the doctor the next day, something in my gut telling me diabetes. She laughed. He's nearly 6' and weighed 116 lbs. He's 29. He's not diabetic. The first blood test came back with a FBG of 312, a1C of 12.9, and a surprising LDL of 1161. She tried him on Metformin for 2 weeks, watched as it did not one single thing, and we were sent to an endo. Our endo is fantastic. She started him immediately on both basal and bolus insulin and his antibody test (not sure which one yet though) came back positive. Endo told us he had very little insulin production left. Husband has no history of diabetes or any autoimmune disease in his family, and absolutely no other health problems. Until last month, he had been in seemingly perfect health, and had not even visited a doctor in years.