Type 2 new to insulin

Hi all! I am a newbie to this board. I am on NPH and of course my doctor said 10 units morning and night. Well that got upped by me to 30 in the morning and 20 at night. I also put myself back on my glipizide and Janumet. I realized that an NPH will not cover my carbs at meals, but these 2 pills do with the insulin. I see an endo on Monday for the first time after 6 years of this disease and the beginning of kidney disease. So alot all of a sudden happened at the good age of 31. My last a1c was 12.6 done last month. I have never been this high. At any rate I am glad to be here and hope that any of you with insulin can let me know what to ask the endo.

Ask to be put on a basal/bolus regimen. (long acting insulin like Levemir or Lantus plus rapid acting for meals).

My recommendation to you - if you are willing, is to go on Multiple Daily Injections (MDI) in which you take a basal insulin such as Levemir or Lantus and a rapid acting for correction and meal boluses. It does require you to learn how to carb count though. It is much more physiological that NPH is. It also offers much more flexibility with timing of meals (you eat when you want to and not when the insulin says you have to) and the meal choices. There is peaking associated with the Nph and you have to “feed the insulin” or eat a certain amount of carbs at a preset time with NPH. I would def ask your endo about going on MDI if it is something you may be interested in.

You should ask for a c-peptide test (which tells how much insulin your body produces). With an A1c of 12.6, it sounds like you should at least test to make sure that you have type 2 diabetes and not type 1 diabetes or LADA. Many people are mis-diagnosed as type 2 diabetic.

Also, I agree with the others. Many people do not have good experiences with NPH. Try asking for Levemir or Lantus (slow acting insulins) plus Humalog, Novolog, or Apidra (fast acting insulins for meals).