Type I Diabetes and Alcohol

I was diagnosed with type I diabetes recently, and being a college student I was wondering what exactly is the deal with alcohol. My doctor just told me not to drink on an empty stomach, but I guess I want to know in more detail what is going on just to be safe.
Thank You!

First off…as a mom… I say…don’t drink!!! Then… realistically I say… the paper that my son was given for “Potential Temporary Basal Rates of Specific Activities” says:

"* Alcohol ( 2 or more drinks) decrease by 60% when drinking for a duration of up to 8 hrs to prevent hypoglycemia. "

but… then is says: use caution. Do you MDI or pump??? My son is 16 and someday will be in your shoes… please be careful.

I have a couple of drinks but you have to be careful. Alcohol slows the natural output of glucose from your liver. So if you have dinner at say 7-8pm then go out drinking at like 10pm-1am or something you will go low in the middle of the night and suffer from hypoglycemia. It may seem crazy, but you should actually have some carbs when you drink alcohol, that’s what I do.

Thanks for the replies. I am currently on the pump.
So as long as I have a meal with carbs in it before i drink, and I carry some sugar with me at all times, i will greatly reduce the chances that hypoglycemia will occur. Is this the correct reasoning?
Also, i am always able to detect hypoglycemia because I know how it feels, but does having alcohol in your system impair your ability to detect this?

It does not impair the ability to detect hypoglycemia. However, if you get drunk and have a severe hypoglycemia, 1) noone will notice and they will not help you because they’ll think you’re just drunk, 2) the GlucaGen Hypokit (glucagon injection) will not work to raise your blood sugar because your liver will be busy metabolizing alcohol. It helps to eat some carbs and fat when drinking. Carbs raise your BG and fat helps with the liver thing.