What the heck? How's this even possible?

From the above summary for the last 12 weeks, and considering that my average number of fingerstick readings per day is ~15, one would assume that my HbA1c for the 12-week period would be ~5.2% or so. But I was so disappointed to see what the lab test showed it to be - a 6.3%. ?????????????????????????

This is my first HbA1c after going on the pump. Considering that I was 8.9 before I went on the pump, I know that it's a significant improvement...but still...6.3%???????????? After all those fingersticks and precautions not too stay >140 for too long?

Yeah, I'm quite bummed out. And I'm sure I'll be alright tomorrow, but today, I get to be majorly disappointed.

I’m not sure if this is fact or not, but according to my endo, HbA1c is mostly affected by your post meal BS. If you have great numbers during the day and you have bad numbers after a meal, then that’s what affects your HbA1c… I’m new at this so it could just be a load of crap, but that’s what I was told. I wish I was in the 6% range… I’m still struggling to get under 9… but it’s only been three months since my diagnosis…

But I tested, on average, 15 times/day…that’s almost 1/hour when I’m awake…and my bed-time and morning numbers have always been excellent with very few exceptions. So, I can’t understand where those highs were hiding. I’ve also been wearing my Dexcom 7+ CGMS for a few weeks now and they bear out my belief that I’m fine at night and my PP highs are not common. As you can see, out of 1,227 readings, 240 were >140mg/dL. That’s a small fraction. And a 6.3% corresponds to an average of 147mg/dL. Still can’t figure out what’s happening with the numbers.

Does the glucose distribution that you get off the 7+ match the glucose distribution that you get off your bg meter?