When do you exercise? Before or After you eat? Or what do you feel is the best time for you?

Did a search for my question but the results were all over the place and didn't really find what I was looking for.

I was wondering what time do most people exercise. Now, I am not really talking about "time of day" here but if that is important to a diabetic than I am interested (I am new at this) but I am wondering what time meaning do you exercise - right after you eat something or after you do your pp test after eating a meal? (sorry I know everyone tests differently)

Here is my general dilemma: I am still trying to get my strength back up and my energy (very out of shape but not overweight). Right now, I am trying to do my exercising between my PP lunch testing and my pre-dinner testing but no snack. Because I thought if i exercised right after I ate (which I never feel like doing anyhow because othewise I get a cramp) than I wouldn't be able to correctly access how the food is effecting my blood sugar.

So, I am wondering how others "schedule" their exercise? If you don't do it right after meals, do you eat something before like a snack and if so, does it help you keep up your energy and strength? I am Type 2 and my numbers are in range and (so far) haven't gone too high or low. Somedays I have energy to do my exercise and some days I am just so tired and have no strength and can't harldy get through it. Like I said, my numbers are in range so I don't think that is effecting me (I am just really - cardiovascularly - out of shape)

I used to understand that is good to have a pre-exercise snack but nothing too heavy but now that I have diabetes I am not sure if I can apply the same rules. Should I? If so, any tips on snacks to eat that will give me more energy and strength (I am a veg). Thanks all!