Which should we choose?

So after our battle of two years, my daughter is getting a pump!!! just in time for Christmas, a Christmas that her Marine father will be home for! So now all I have to do is pick the pump and email the educator asap to get the order in so that it is here in time for the saline week and then she can be on it for a week before Christmas.

The doctor said that it is our pick but we don’t know what we want or what is better for a three year old little girl.

I have a 5-year-old who started pumping at 4… we picked the Animas Ping but we only had two choices from our insurance carrier… Medtronic or Animas. We liked the Ping because the dosage sizes are the smallest increment possible (important for little ones) and because of the remote control meter. I still like it, but I have NO experience with any other options.

I love my daughter’s Animas Ping - the remote meter is fantastic. I can bolus her if she’s running really high and I don’t need to wake her. She can wear her pump under her clothing and bolus herself (she’s a teen) and not take her pump out. In the winter, when we went cross country skiing it was very convenient.

The tech support has been fantastic, if/when we’ve had problems, which we have, they’ve been great about getting us a new pump/meter out immediately.

Also - I didn’t think we’d use it but, the water proof feature is really nice. My daughter runs really high in extreme heat. The summer before last she stayed in a swimming pool most of the time for two days - too long to keep her pump off. She just clipped it to her suit and we had no issues.

A couple of things - the software that comes with the pump for downloading information does not easily interface if you have Windows 7 although plenty of people have posted on this site about how to get around that.

The clip that comes with the pump breaks after several months but your child is young enough that that isn’t likely the way she’ll wear it.