You heard it here first "Pump Thumb"

I’ve been using medtronic pumps for almost 20 years. For the last 6 months I’ve had and aching right thumb. At the base. I believe it’s either tendonitis or arthritis and is due to how often it’s used to manage my pump. I’m going to make an appt. with my hand Dr. to see what can be done.
Has anyone else experienced this ailment?

1 Like

I currently have arthritis toe, elbow and finger. The orthopedic I went to made me pick one thing to focus on, which wasnt very helpful. I do have articles on diabetes and hand issues so it is possible that you have things going on…Btw he said I had tennis elbow which I think is computer elbow really.

I’ve had carpal tunnel surgery on both wrists. Only one finger that hasn’t been treated for trigger finger. I’m glad the tandem pump has a touch screen. I’ll probably order it sometime this year

The only thing that bothers one of my thumbs is too much cell phone usage. My pump has never aggravated my hands.

Pump usage hasn’t bothered me. I’ve had trigger finger in both my thumbs and a finger in the past but it was before my pump and there was no obvious reason for it. I use a pump now and it has never aggravated my thumbs. I believe I’ve read diabetics are more prone to trigger fingers.

The first one I had my acupuncturist work on it and in about 3 visits it started getting better. He also taught me how to massage it, so the next 2 I just started to massage them myself and it took longer to clear up than when I had acupuncture with it, but they did clear up. Months versus weeks.