A Question Of Ignorance -- Tuojeo And It's Pen

I am very confused about Tuejeo and its “300 units per ml” concentration. I have always taken Lantus/Humulin NPH and other insulins from a standard syringe and 10 ml vial. Tuejeo comes in a pen. Since it’s supposedly “3 times more concentrated” than Lantus, I would assume that a Type I diabetic who required 60 units/day of Lantus or Humulin NPH would need only 20 units/day of Tuejeo.

Being totally ignorant about how an insulin pen works, I went to my pharmacy and bought some pen needles. I attached one to the Tuejeo pen and set the pen to dispense 20 units. It did not seem to work correctly and only dispensed a much smaller amount… Does the Tuejeo pen automatically compensate for the fact that Tuejeo is 3 times more “potent” than standard Lantus or Humulin NPH? Should I set the Tuejeo pen to dispense 60 units instead of 20?

Frankly, this whole “pen” thing is much more confusing to me than a syringe…

I am not a pen expert.

But based on reading other threads what I recall is that when using specifically a PEN you do not worry about the concentration nor the volume being delivered but rather simply dial the number of UNITS of insulin you want and the pen will deliver the number of UNITS properly.

Hence if you need 60 units of basal, you would dial 60 on the pen and you would get 60 units of insulin.

How Lantus is converted over to Humulin NPH or Tuejeo is I assume a topic entirely by itself and probably not related to the concentration aspect of the question.

This is my understanding, too. Concentrated insulin still delivers the number of units you need, it just does so with less total liquid volume. All units are equal, regardless of the concentration, whether U100, U200, U300 or U500.

The designers of these pens have gone to great lengths to avoid this confusion, If you just focus on the number of insulin units you need then you will be OK. Don’t overthink it.