Any purpose to calibrating in first 12 hours?

CGM newbie here is now on 3rd sensor. G6.

Definitely see what everyone’s talking about, with the first half day or so on a new sensor. The sensor reading goes all over the place with no rhyme or reason and several times the screen just refused to give me any number at all and calibration attempts just whacked the system out. The wackiest results shown below. In the first hour after the two-hour warmup, the system repeatedly alarmed about impending sever hypo continually although all my finger sticks showed me stable at 140, then when I tried to calibrate the the thing it just went offline. Then overnight crazy stuff happened too.

So, there’s little to no value to me in sensor readings for the first half day, and me trying to calibrate the sensor can’t be good because those readings have nothing to do with where the sensor will eventually settle out and will just confuse the Dexcom brains. Right? Lecture me if I’m wrong and I will learn!

BTW, about 12 hours in, everything did settle in

I calibrate a sensor when it reports false severe lows for a couple of hours. The main purpose is to get rid of the beeping every 30 minutes. Unfortunately this intervention invalidates the factory calibration. I then must check up on the sensor and calibrate until it earns my trust (typically on day 2).

2 Likes

I too tried to calibrate through the false severe low and I’m thinking that was my mistake because I invalidated the factory calibration.

In retrospect maybe I should’ve just turned off all alarms for the first 12 hours. I haven’t done that yet but I think it can be set up that way (maybe the impending severe hypo cannot be turned off?)

Correct. Severe alarm cannot be turned off.

1 Like