Are any of you teachers?

Are any of you teachers? It’s just that I am a little concerned about needing my insulin as I have heard stories in rough schools where kids will do anything to get their hands on needles, and where there has even been a case where a kid gave another kid a near leathal dose of insulin.

I’m a substitute teacher for grades K-12. Although the district I teach within currently has never left me feeling concerned about malevolent seizure of my personal belongings, my resume includes student teaching experience at two “rough schools.” One, an alternative learning center -importing kids who were expelled, and some removed from their homes, for delinquent behavior; in addition, professional semester spent at a gigantic inner-city high school in a vicinity where 15 murders had occurred that year.

This may sound scary, but the reality of working in this kind of environment is really quite different. (i.e. - not as bad as storytellers & media folk would have you believe. The kid administering the near leathal injection seems like an isolated incident bejeweled by a news source that uses scare tactics to keep your eyes on the paper, or glued to the tv set.)

Although I am doubtful of terrible things ensuing here, I will add that when I was first diagnosed, my doctor had me using syringes and I can’t say that it didn’t frequently cross my mind that they could end up in the wrong hands for ill purposes. Since I’ve switched to pen needles, however, that thought seems foreign. Perhaps you can switch to pen-needles and carry your needle caps in your pockets, separate from your insulin pen?

At any rate, I can’t imagine that the school you are going to be working within would not have a safe place for you to stash your belongings. If you have reason to worry, lock your belongings in a closet, or desk drawer, keeping only your testing supplies and emergency glucose tablets close at hand.