Asking for carb menu - no, I'm not on a diet

Okay, my rant for the day! There are times I absolutely hate asking for carb menus. Last night I got that “oh, darling, you don’t have to worry about the calories, look at you!” Nope, it wasn’t the calories I was worried about. It’s the same thing with ordering diet cokes for my daughter - which I’ve been doing since she was 6 years old - and there been more than enough times I know someone is thinking, “sad, she’s making her daughter diet at such a young age”.

I know it’s frustrating when people think that counting what you eat is equivalent to being on a diet-- whereas for us, it’s just a way of life!!

I usually give too much information to prevent these comments, I tell them that I have diabetes and I need to know the exact carbohydrate count of what I eat, can I please have the nutrition info?

Annoying, but it usually prevents the reactions. About the diet coke, I guess we just have to accept the stares!

Since my husband became a Type 1 I have been looking at the whole world differently. I never again will wonder at what people eat… Okay, I may wonder, but it will be enlightened wonderment.
And I’ll still likely be upset at the mother I saw in the store the other day denying her child an apple - but offering a box of cookies instead from the trolly full of chips and sweets. Can’t think of a reason for that one… (I overheard her saying that they had lots of snacks and didn’t need apples, too)

Katie, fortunately for you and your husband, you have been enlightened about the benefits of making healthier food choices. Unfortunately, the majority of the American populace HAS NOT received the information in a manner where they could perceive it as “enlightenment”, nor as necessary for themselves or for their loved ones. All we can do is kindly show by example, I guess. Part of the Modern Health-care dilemma, I assume…When is needed information TOO Much Information? Hmmmm