Basal Testing

I have been asked by my endo to do the lovely basal testing again. I have been pumping for almost 9 years, so I have done it before. While I don’t mind doing it, she wants me to do it on a “typical day”. Since I teach full-time and am taking classes part-time, I do not have a typical day. There is no such thing at this point… maybe after I take my final next weekend. How necessary is the “typical” day part?

Thanks!

Your typical day is not Sunday as you are not exercising the same as you do at your job.
Your typical day is Monday-Friday when you’re teaching full time. If you shop/exercise/on your feet differently on Saturday, it isn’t Saturday either!

Thanks! Actually, even when I’m teaching I don’t have a consistent day as we have 2 different sets of classes. One makes my numbers go insane… the other, things stay nice and steady… I think I’m going to wind up on 2 different basal patterns…

Any 4-6 hour time slot w/o food or background insulin will work. Be aware that any adjustments you make to your basal will not take full affect until 36-72 hours, so don’t over adjust. Although your endo has a medical license, the information provide that you describe is not an appropriate way to advise someone on calculating basal dosages.

You may want to have a work day basal pattern and a weekend pattern if your work days are drastically different from your weekend days.

The books, Think like a pancreas…" and “Pumping Insulin” are both good reads for learning how to make basal adjustments.

Emily, I have never been able to basal testing while working at school. I only do it on weekends. I understand so much about no day being “typical” when you work at a school with young people