Can you have a "sort of bad" infusion site?

Hope everyone is doing well. I’m still fairly new at pumping and I was wondering if you can get an infusion site that is “sort of bad”?

I just put in a new infusion site yesterday afternoon before dinner and my numbers at dinner, 2 hours later, and at my night snack were all in target, 80 to 120. I have been eating the exact same night snack for the past week with stable sugars (same amount of food too). I tested before going to bed and I was a bit higher than usual, 140. So I did a half dose correction and went to bed. I got up to pee in the middle of the night (I know TMI) and tested. I was at 184. Corrected again and woke up a little over target at 133. (My night basals have been good for the past 3 weeks, I just ran basal tests to stop getting night time lows.) So today begins and my numbers were in target until after dinner and I am up again to 198. I ate leftovers from last night’s dinner weighed out on a scale so I know the carbs were the same as last night when I was in target! I am just having diabetic weirdness or could my site just not be 100%? I hate to change it out since I haven’t gone over 200 but I feel crappy when my sugars go over 170 so I don’t want to be stingy and stupid either. My doc says 2 unexplained highs over 240, do a change but I am not going that high! Any ideas?

I replaced it this morning, I couldn’t stand the ups and downs. The cannula looked OK but maybe it was just a bad site for absorption. Who knows? I know it’s not scar tissue since I never took shots in this area and I have maybe had 4 or 5 sites there over the last year…very weird…thanks for the feedback!

This is a late reply but, yes, definitely. Sometimes I can’t seem to get my sugars down, and other times I can’t get them up. And the only thing is to replace and change site. I have even had my diabetes educator agree that sometimes the insulin itself might not be good. Good luck!