'Can't Decide what Type' Diabetes

TL;DR I was diagnosed type 1, changed to Type 2, changed back to Type 1, and now my labs look Type 2ish again over the course of 20 years. Anyone have any idea why my body is a jerk and can’t pick a diabetes type to torture me with?

Hi everyone- it has been a very long time since I posted in here. Lots of things happened since then- My dad passed away from ALS, I finished my Masters and my PhD, and I started a new postdoc. I also, in the past year or so, developed amazing control of my type 1 diabetes. As great as that sounds, it has caused a lot of problems, and I’m hoping maybe someone has seen something similar and has some advice.

My backstory: I was originally diagnosed type 1 in 1999 after being in DKA with a glucose over 800. I was on insulin for a couple of years, when I started having near constant lows. The new doctor I had decided to run additional tests and discovered I had a normal c-peptide, no antibodies, and a normal(ish) A1c at 5.5, so he changed my diagnosis to type 2. I did okay (A1c under 6) for a number of years, until 2010 when my A1c began to creep up. I was placed one type 2 medication after another (Metformin, Duetact, Actos, Januvia, etc) and continued to have trouble keeping an A1c under 9. I went back to school and started seeing a nurse practitioner who placed me on the max dose of metformin and thought I was just being non-compliant. In Jan. 2016 I developed a kidney stone and a urinary/kidney infection and went to the ER, where they diagnosed those and immediately placed me on a heart monitor because I was in lactic acidosis and they were afraid my heart would stop. At discharge, I was placed on Lantus and told to not take metformin again and to see an endocrinologist because they thought I had type 1, not type 2.

Present day: