Can't look at myself in the mirror

This is my first time in a group of people who are just like me. I’ve been too embarrassed to say that Ihave ddiabetes. What started out gestational is still here 2 years later. Ive lost so much body fat. So much that ppl look at me in shock as if OMG…Saddened and concerned, I am in the ER trying to find out why im losing so much weight unintentionally. How can I stop losing? Does diabetes make u lose weight unintentionally? How can I gain it back? If these are dumb questions I apologize

Welcome. There's nothing to be embarrassed about. Diabetes is not a personal failure, it's your body not working correctly.

You don't mention how your blood sugars have been. If they are high most of the time, then you could definitely be having uncontrolled weight loss. (I lost 50 lbs and wasn't very overweight to begin with….) Getting your blood sugars under control is a good 1st step for both your concern about weight and your overall health. In whatever way possible - diet, exercise, pills or insulin. (Insulin is nothing to be ashamed of either - it's just a hormone that our bodies don't deal with correctly.)

There are no dumb questions. So continue to ask away. This site is a helpful place for both information and support.

You may want to look into whether you actually have Type 1 diabetes vs Type 2, due to your relative youth and need to gain weight. Although in many ways the label doesn't matter, a proper diagnosis is helpful. You can research the term LADA here or elsewhere to see if you think it applies to you.

Sorry that you've had to join our club. But best wishes on feeling better and coming to terms with your diagnosis. Hugs.