Considering T2 as a Spectrum, not a Single Condition

The more I think of it, the more I see that which is diagnosed as “Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus” as a spectrum of metabolic disorders, all of which are capable of producing a single symptom: hyperglycemia. Or maybe two symptoms, if you count beta cell death.

While I am not a doctor, a pharmacist, or trained in medicine or medical research, I can see multiple etiologies (causes and paths to “disease”); each of these should indicate a more specific medical approach to glycemic management and health maintenance. I believe this is why, among the multiple classes of oral antidiabetics, some of them work for some PWDs, but not for others (and vice-versa). If our diagnosing clinicians can split out the various disorders of this spectrum and isolate the causes, I believe they will be able to provide us with more effective management options and better long-term quality of life.

Please note that some of the diagnostic presentations (the group of symptoms the doctor sees) are not unique to a particular etiology, and that an individual’s “Type 2 Diabetes” may be a combination of these factors, requiring a combination of therapies.

The specific etiologies I suggest so far are:

1. Diabesity. In this case, obesity is the triggering factor. Hormones released by adipose tissues may affect glucose metabolism either by lowering glucose tolerance, by increasing insulin resistance, by stressing beta cells' internal transportation networks (affecting the molecular structure of the insulin produced) or by other pathways yet to be discovered. Insulin insufficiency is a possible finding, as additional body weight suggests additional volume of tissue requiring insulin delivery. (This does not necessarily contradict findings that people with Type 2 diabetes secrete more insulin than people without diabetes. In the absence of these chemical stressors, beta cell function should be close to normal if diagnosis is caught early on.