Convince pump to adjust for syringed bolus

Hi all.
I’m an avid golfer wearing my Animas vibe pump on my belt during this hot weather in Florida. I’m seeing some extreme highs telling me that my Humalog insulin is losing potency in the heat. I always carry a temperature controlled spare vial and syringes in a cooler. I bolus based on my pump’s eze BG calculations but the pump has no idea that I did the bolus, so the next calculation that the pump makes based on current BG, carb intake and “insulin on board” will be inaccurate because the “insulin on board” does not include the syringed bolus. Hence I see extreme lows sneak up on me. Does anyone know of a way to tell the pump that my syringed bolus is done and included with the “insulin on board” so the calculation is correct? I may or may not have been instructed on this issue and if so have forgotten it. I’ve been pumping for a few years now, type 1 for 38 years. My insurance covers minimal on pumps and supplies as they consider it a luxury from my 35 years of needles. I expect I’ll be using the Animas Vibe with Dexcom 4 as long as it lasts so if anyone that has changed from Animas has any infusion sets etc lying around and not using, please let me know. Thanks for any guidance.
Don

I use a MedT pump but I’ve had the same question several times. Sometimes when I’ve got enough basal in the pump to last through the workday, but not enough if I have to bolus for lunch, I’ll bring an injector along and bolus from that. Downside as you say is that the pump doesn’t know to count it as IOB. For my pump anyway I don’t think there’s a way to enter that kind of data other than by actually doing the bolus.

Do you not refill your pump when you should, or are u trying to squeeze every last unit out of the reservoir? I don’t like cutting it that close, and certainly don’t do pens when I have a pump. If cost is the issue, wouldn’t having pens and vials be more costly? I know you have a good answer for me! :slight_smile: