Crazy Numbers!

Hello!

I started with Dexcom last night. The sensor started around 7:30pm and I calibrated when prompted to do so. All night it read between 140-150. After showering this morning, it alarmed that my sugar is high. First it read 319, then 340, now 356. I took a test, and my sugar is 141 so I added that BG to the Dexcom. Is this normal? What should I do now? Is it usually this OFF?

Thanks!
Cara

get ready for your love/hate relationship with your dex. The first day it is often settling in and numbers can be crazy. Sometimed they never straighten out, then call Dex and replace sensor. Most times it settles in and a nice way to see trends. Do not believe the sensor until you test BG! We can not get lazy and trust this thing as it only makes you crazy.

Be patient!

Its better than not having it!

I'm fairly new to the device, but have not seen wacky readings anything quite like that (ha ha -- unless I was in fact that high!). You might give Dex a call to inform them about the way-off readings and see what they say -- they might just send you another sensor (and tell you to replace that one with another right now).

hth

/\/\

I've been dexing since december 11 and the first day that I change out sensors, I have about a day to two days of crazy numbers then it straightens out. I don't know why it is but it just does that and has for every sensor I've used. Up till last week I was changing it out every seven days as it says. Now, I'm going to change it when it "dies" to get more out of it.