Dental Health

Is anyone interested in the following:

Please plan to join us for an Advancements in Diabetes Seminar?
on
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
at
3pm Eastern| 2pm Central| 1pm Mountain | 12pm Pacific | 11am Alaska
Our topic is:
Diabetes and Oral Health

This 1hour webinar will be presented by:
G. Todd Smith, DDS, MSD
IHS National Consultant, Periodontics

The session is approved for 1 hour of CME/CE.
Information about the webinar presentation:
The chronic inflammatory disease of periodontitis will be defined and described in detail as well as the relationship between diabetes and periodontitis, including how periodontal treatment can improve glycemic control. Modifications to standard dental care in patients with diabetes and periodontitis will be discussed along with an interdisciplinary approach to their treatment.

Registration is not required. Use the following URL for joining the webinar -http://ihs.adobeconnect.com/advancements/
http://ihs.adobeconnect.com/advancements/
The URL will take you to the login page for the session - select the option to “Enter as a Guest” and type in your name.

Note: if you are not able to attend the live webinar session on March 16, the session will be recorded and the CME/CE approved recorded session will be available (along with other CME/CE approved trainings) on the Division of Diabetes web site at http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/Diabetes/index.cfm?module=trainingSeminarsTabbed

Please contact the Division of Diabetes at diabetesprogram@ihs.govmailto:diabetesprogram@ihs.gov if you need additional information.

Jan M. Frederick, MS, RD
IHS Division of Diabetes

3 Likes

Thank you so much for posting this! It sounds very useful!

Best wishes,

marty1492

1 Like

Recent check up & dentist mentions ‘dry mouth’ - ah I didn’t know that saliva’s an important part of preventing tooth decay. Says medications maybe the culprit. Dental care/insurance is interesting at clinics - only a yearly cleaning is covered & they refer you to others for a second cleaning, odd they can’t/don’t charge for a 2nd cleaning like other dentists do. Strange how dental plans will cover having all your teeth extracted (and dentures) but will balk at offering 2nd cleanings.