Desperately seeking POSITIVE knee replacement diabetics

I know it's silly, but I've been nursing two bone on bone knees for 15 years, After this winter in South Dakota, and the ice and snow, I've rather decided to replace one in Jan 2015. And the other after I've rehabbed,. But my problem is that the people who WANT to talk about it, are ones who have had BAD experiences or don't have diabetes, I need people who have had POSITIVE experiences AND are diabetics, I am scared to death of rehabbing, and the surgery with my diabetes. I am a well controlled diabetic on sliding scale humalog, janumet and amaryl, I've lost 100 lbs now, and exercise 5 days a week, plus pt, Physically, I should be ready. BUT mentally and emotionally, I need the help of those who have had this done, or have had surgery being diabetic. Please help,

It is worth waiting until it is absolutely necessary--definitely. But only you can decide that. Mine on one knee was 3/1/12....

In advance: Be sure your insurance covers good follow-up Physical Therapy. If you don't have good insurance, there are still ways of finding that kind of support. You just need to dig. Mine ran short and I regret that to this day. Be prepared to join a gym for at least a few months--or buy a piece of some kind of workout equipment--treadmill or whatever. There are usually plenty of ads for used ones that are barely used! I went to a gym for 3 months after PT expired (I was a professional dancer for 40 years--didn't know what the inside of a trendy modern gym looked like!). When I could do my 2-mile walks again and it was a gorgeous fall, I quit the noisy, stinky, loud gym!