Dexcom accuracy

I would like your thoughts on the accuracy of dexcom. I have been using dexcom for at least 6 months and find it helpful only during basal testing. I just don’t know what to make of it.

Sounds like you have a different experience with Dexcom accuracy than my wife and I have with ours. Most of the time our Dexcoms are so close to meter readings that I am continually am amazed and pleased as is my wife

When my bg is within normal parameters, the dexcom is usually pretty accurate for me. But I find that it reads lower by a fair amount when I drop below 80 or so. I get a lot of false alerts for going low when I am between 70 and 90.

1 Like

I found that it is most accurate for ME when I have it on the love handle all the way on my side rather than being closer to my belly button.

I’ve worn every one of mine (almost 4 month’s worth) 9-12" from my bellybutton. I don’t calibrate too often except when I’ve worn one way past official times, and it’s becoming unreliable. If I do 3 cals 15 min apart and the sensor fails to maintain correct numbers, then I pull it (I’m talking about when it’s way past 7 days)

I have done calibrations ‘on time’, and sporadically when I’m very stable. Doesn’t seem to affect either way unless I do it right when I start to drop or climb.

1 Like

@Dee_Meloche
Our current Dexcom G5 sensor has been in place for 11 days (one restart). Abdomen location. Calibration this morning using a Contour Next One meter was off by 1 point from what the Dexcom was reading.

A typical sensor lifetime for use is about 12~13 days. Past that and the numbers start to get obviously erratic.

Similar to @Hammer, we find greater accuracy when within our normal range. As the range gets further away, the accuracy drops. However, we are typically not calibrating in those further ranges, so I don’t find it surprising that the Dexcom is more accurate in the range for which we are entering the calibrations.

We do not get many false low alerts at all.